Illinois American Water Awards over $92,000 in Firefighter Grants

Since 2010, over 770 grants totaling over $760,000 have been awarded to Illinois fire and emergency organizations in the Company’s service area.

Belleville, Ill. (Oct. 4, 2021) —Over $92,000 will be shared by over 90 Illinois fire departments through Illinois American Water’s 2021 Firefighter Grant Program. Since the program was created in 2010, over 770 grants totaling over $760,000 have been awarded to fire and emergency organizations serving customers in Illinois American Water’s service area.

“We know the importance and value water has in protecting homes and businesses; we also understand the need to support our local heroes. This program allows us to continue to provide support to the local departments,” said Justin Ladner, Illinois American Water President.

Illinois American Water’s Firefighter Grant Program awards grants to provide personal protective gear, communications equipment, firefighting tools, water handling equipment, training materials and classroom programs. 

The firefighter grants are being announced in conjunction with National Fire Prevention Week, Oct. 3- Oct. 9, 2021, to raise awareness about the importance of fire prevention and emergency planning. This year’s Fire Prevention Week theme is “Learn the Sounds of Fire Safety!” It educates about the different sounds the smoke and carbon monoxide alarms make. Learning the sounds of alarms will keep families safe. Learn more at

Illinois American Water is providing firefighter grants to the following Illinois fire departments:

Northern Illinois
Bolingbrook Fire Department
Des Plaines Fire Department
Elmhurst Fire Department
Elgin Fire Department
Homer Township Fire Protection District
Lemont Fire Protection District
Lisle-Woodridge Fire District
Lombard Fire Department
Mount Prospect Fire Department
Northwest Homer Fire Protection District
Orland Fire Protection District
Oswego Fire Protection District
Plainfield Fire Protection District
Prospect Heights Fire Protection District
Rockton Fire Protection District
Romeoville Fire Department
South Elgin Fire Department
Warrenville Fire Protection District
Sterling Fire Department
Allen Township Fire Protection District
Dana Fire Protection District
Grand Ridge Fire Department
Leonore Fire Department
Long Point Fire Department
Reading Fire Department
Streator Fire Department

Central Illinois
Arcola Fire Protection District
Champaign Fire Department
Eastern Prairie Fire Protection District
Edge-Scott Fire Protection District
Sangamon Valley Fire Protection District (Village of Fisher)
Pesotum Fire Protection District
Sadorus Fire Protection District
Savoy Fire Department
Sidney Fire Protection District
St. Joseph-Stanton Fire Department
Tolono Fire Protection District
Tuscola Fire Department
U of I Willard Airport Fire Department
Urbana Fire Department
Lincoln Fire Department
Lincoln Rural Fire Department
Mt. Pulaski Fire Department
City of Pekin Fire Department
North Pekin Fire Department
Farmington Fire Protection District
Chillicothe Community Fire Protection District
Limestone Township Fire Protection District
Timber-Hollis Fire Protection District
Logan Trivoli Fire Protection District
Peoria Fire Department
Dunlap Fire Protection District
Washington Fire Department
West Peoria Fire Protection District
Pontiac Fire Department
Saunemin Fire Protection District

Southern Illinois
Alhambra Volunteer Fire Department
City of Alton Fire Department
Cottage Hills Fire Protection District
Godfrey Fire Protection District
Jerseyville Fire Protection District
Olive Livingston Fire Department
QEM Fire Protection District
Cairo Fire Department
Belleville Fire Department
Cahokia Volunteer Fire Department
Church Road Fire Protection District
Columbia Fire Department
East Side Fire Protection District
East St. Louis Fire Department
Fairmont City Fire Department
French Village Fire Department
Glen Carbon Fire Protection District
Granite City Fire Department
Hamel Volunteer Fire Department
Holiday Shores Fire Department
Madison Fire Department
Marine Community Fire Protection District
Mascoutah Fire Department
Midway Fire Protection District
Millstadt Union Fire Department
Mitchell Fire Department
Northwest Fire Protection District
O’Fallon Fire Rescue
Pocahontas – Old Ripley Fire Department
Rosiclare Fire Department
Sauget Fire Department
Signal Hill Fire Department
St. Clair Special Emergency Services
Swansea Fire Department
Villa Hills Fire Department
Venice Fire Department
Washington Park Fire Department
Worden Fire Department

Illinois American Water, a subsidiary of American Water (NYSE: AWK), is the largest investor-owned water utility in the state, providing high-quality and reliable water and/or wastewater services to approximately 1.3 million people. American Water also operates a customer service center in Alton and a quality control and research laboratory in Belleville. For more information, visit and follow Illinois American Water on Twitter and Facebook.


About American Water

With a history dating back to 1886, American Water is the largest and most geographically diverse U.S. publicly traded water and wastewater utility company. The company employs more than 7,000 dedicated professionals who provide regulated and market-based drinking water, wastewater and other related services to 15 million people in 46 states. American Water provides safe, clean, affordable, and reliable water services to our customers to help make sure we keep their lives flowing. For more information, visit and follow American Water on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn.

Media Contacts

Karen Cotton

Senior Manager External Communications